top of page

Interview with Axle

Meeting Axle from The From love to Loathe Series Book 3 Winter in Love

Axle is waiting in the sitting area when I go and collect him for the interview. I noticed he had drank four small cups of the free water. I smiled and then nodded at him when I walked into the room. He stood wearing hella wrinkled khaki knee shorts with a basic navy blue tee. He wore flip flops and his long dreads were pulled back into one ponytail.

He collected the small cups and dropped them into the waste paper basket. He stumbled over to me dripping over his own two feet or maybe an invisible bump on the ground. We shook hands and then let him into my office.

Axle walked straight over to the glass water pitcher and filled himself a glass as he looked outside the window at the view. I shifted my papers on my desk and then cleared my throat. Axle didn’t budge from the window.

Phoenix-Axle do you mind if we get started?

Axle turned halfway around until our eyes met. He gave me a side waive with the hand that was holding the glass to mouth as he nodded back at me. He turned around and continued to look out the window. I looked down at the paper in front of me with the interview questions.

Axle-Huh.

Phoenix-What was that?

Axle turned back to meet my eyes again. He pointed out the window with the hand holding the glass. He shifted the hand holding the glass from side to side holding finger up pointing around outside.

Axle-You can see everything here.

Phoenix-What do you mean?

Axle-Like the eyes in Great Gatsby.

Phoenix-What?

Axle-The book by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Phoenix-I’m familiar with book and author, but I’m a little confused with the resemblance.

Axle-You know, your way up here watching everybody and everything that going on. Just like the eyes that everything.

I didn’t like the resemblance he had brought to mind now.

Phoenix-Oh.

Was all I could say to him.

Phoenix-So Axle this is your senior year at Federal Way High School. What are your plans when you graduate?

Axle poured himself another glass of water.

Axle-Not too much, just go to state for a business degree and help run my father’s company.

Axle answered me then started drinking on his second full glass of water.

Phoenix-That’s interesting, is that what you want to do or is that what you have to do?

Axle-A little of both of really, but I don’t mind it.

Phoenix-You never wanted to live somewhere else?

Axle-Not really.

Phoenix-What if someone offered you an amazing job four states over?

Axle-No, I wouldn’t leave my mom like that, I’m all she has.

Phoenix-Oh well I can’t argue with that. So your mom raised you?

Axle-Yes.

Phoenix-What about your father?

Axle-He was present in my life but he didn’t raise me.

Phoenix-I understand. So what’s the day and the life for Axle?

Axle-Pretty boring, I think. I wake up, eat breakfast, go to school, and then go home. Nothing too juicy.

Phoenix-Okay so what do you and your friends do when you hang out?

Axle-I don’t really have friends, there are two guys I talk to at school who I have class with. We meet up at Taco Bell sometimes, but that’s it. I pretty chill by myself.

Phoenix-Why is that?

Axle-It’s easier.

Phoenix-What do you mean?

Axle-I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I’m not into sports, and I don’t chase girls like a lost puppy.

Phoenix-Again, I can’t argue with that.

Axle pours himself another glass, and I stand to walk over to the window for my last few questions.

Phoenix-So tell me about Dakarai Venzor?

Axle-I don’t hang out with him.

I meet Axles piercing eyes when he said this. I could tell he had stiffened a bit when I mentioned Dakarai.

Phoenix-I know you don’t but you guys have been going to the same school together forever. You’ve never crossed paths with him?

Axle stared at me for a few heartbeats and then he sat the glass down on the table. He turned and went to sit down in the chair across from my desk. I followed behind him and then sat down at my desk. He sat down in the chair across from me and then did that guy crossing the one leg with his legs gaped open holding that onto his ankle with his hand.

Axle-I don’t really know him.

Phoenix-That’s strange Axle, you two have been going to the same school since you were kids. You’ve never had a conversation with him before?

Axle-No not really. We don’t run in the same crowd.

Phoenix-I know him and his crew call themselves Mutts. You’re considered a Mutt too, I mean your mixed race just like them right?

Axle-I guess.

Phoenix-Well what Winter Samson, have you ever had a conversation with her?

Axle relaxed all the way back into his seat now. He had a smirky little grin on his face.

Axle-Yes I’ve conversed with Winter before.

Phoenix-So what did you guys talk about?

Axle-Everything.

Phoenix-Winter is a very beautiful girl, and she gets a long with a lot of different character of people. For instance, she converts with Dakarai and with you. How does that make you feel?

Axle uncrosses his leg and then re-cross the other leg over the other.

Axle-Babe, can be friends with whomever she chooses.

Phoenix-Babe? So she lets you call her Babe?

Axle-Yea, sometimes.

Phoenix-You do realize you’re the only person on earth she let’s call her that?

Axle just sat there and then a small innocent smiled appeared on his face.

Phoenix-Well Axle thanks for meeting with me today, I really appreciate it.

Axle-Thank you.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page